About Us

The Tano North Municipal Assembly is one of the four districts upgraded into municipality in the Brong Ahafo Region on 20th December, 2017. It was upgraded into municipality with Legislative Instrument (LI) 2267. The then Tano North District Assembly was carved out of the Tano District in 2004 with (LI) 1754 and has Duayaw-Nkwanta as its Administrative Capital.

The Municipality lies between Latitudes 70 00′ N and 70 25′N and Longitudes 20 03′ W and 20 15′ W. It has a total land area of 837.4 square kilometres and constitutes about 1.8 percent of the total land area of the Brong Ahafo Region. The Tano North Municipal in general is regarded as agrarian and lies in the heart of the forest zone and has vast track of arable lands with two rainfall patterns. Aside the vast fertile land which is suitable for the cultivation of a wide range of cash and food crops, the District has a forest reserves and a number of tree species such as Odum, Mahogany, Ceba, Akasaa among others which can be explored for Timber.

The district has two main vegetation types, the moist semi-deciduous forest, mostly in the southern and south-eastern parts with gross forest cover of about 157.45 km2 with about 132.52 km2 of this under 2 forest reserves namely Bosomkese and Apape Forest Reserves. The second dominant vegetation type is the guinea savannah found in the northern and north western parts around Subriso and Yamfo where cattle rearing are predominant.

The District is endowed with a large deposit of white and red clay in the basin of the Tano River in and around Tanoso where pottery and ceramic industries are prevalent. Inhabitants of the town are currently exploiting the clay deposits for the production of a wide range of products including earthen pot (Apotoyowa), flower vase and burnt bricks.

A large deposit of gold is found in the mountain ranges that run across Yamfo, Tanoso, Terchire, Adrobaa and Bomaa (Dickson and Benneh, 1970). These are been extracted by Newmont Ghana Gold Limited as part of the Ahafo Project Phase II. Newmont Ghana Gold Limited has obtained a mining area permit from the Government of Ghana through the Mineral Commission over the portion of Ahafo mining lease demarcated as Ahafo North Project Mining areas. The affected communities are Susuanso, Yamfo, Adongo, Afrispakrom, Terchire, Adrobaa.

The municipality has one constituency known as the Tano North Constituency. There are five sub- structures namely Duayaw Nkwanta Town Council, Yamfo Town Council, Bomaa Area Council, Tanoso Area Council, Terchire / Adrobaa Area Council. There two traditional Councils, each of which has a paramount status. These are: Duayaw Nkwanta and Yamfo Traditional Council.